IC82 Forum

Login 
Username:   Password:   Log me on automatically each visit  
Register FAQSearchLogin
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:35 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 DCC'ing a Pendolino 

Okay, so I'm really new to the hobby, so please forgive my rookie questions ;)

So I got 2 starter sets for Christmas to really get me started nicely the Eurostar and Virgin Trains Pendolino, (Alstom) now both are analogue, with both loco's being DCC ready.

After setting them up I realized I really need a DCC system to really achieve what I want to with the sets, so no problem I have done plenty of homework with regards to the benefits of DCC and how to fit the decoders, and although I'm new to all this, I'm confident I can operate on the precious loco's and that the resulting benefits will be worth it.

But I do have 1 question, although basic, I just wanted to be sure, and my question is.

Do I need to place a decoder in both ends of the Pendolino? I know obviously you would normally put one in the motorized unit, but will I need to place one in the dummy unit also, for the light function? I,m sure that I do, but I just wanted to make sure.
Also do I need to sync the dummy unit with the controller as well as the motorized unit? and if so I assume they will have the same number?

Lastly 1 chip in the motorized unit of the Eurostar should be enough as it don`t have functioning lights? Is this correct?

I'm pretty sure I need 3 in total, but I just wanted to make sure, I'm heading to my local Modelzone at the weekend, which is inconveniently 50 miles away, so I want to be sure I know what I need.

Thank you for your time

Nick

Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:45 am

Hello again,

I'm pretty sure you need two for the virgin pendolino as the current doesn't flow from one unit to the other.